
Why is a mortgage site Google? Hijjack or mistake?An interesting find today by a Dutch SEO company. Apparently if you search for "Google Germany" or "Google France" in any given language in Europe there is a result which seems to be Google itself, but isn't. But then again is. The website Ghlplc.co.uk is owned by the GHL Group, a UK mortgage and loan company. The company has no use of getting ranked this high on these terms and not getting clicks, so its worth looking into. ![]() So we did some more research. Looking in the Google index it shows that the site has been indexed for loads of languages, but all Google pages. That would mean they will not only rank for Google Germany and France but also for other languages. ![]() The answer might also be very simple: it could be a wrong www-redirect. After all, when you type in http://ghlplc.co.uk/ you are being redirected to the site of the mortgage holders. Or it could just be proxy-related. A DNS - traceroute might give us the answer. As said, the site with www sends us to the US. Without the www we are getting a Birmingham UK hosting company. ![]() Jon Myers calls it "Index Highjacking", what would you call it? CommentRelated tweets
|
Last Comments
SpecialsEventsLast event
Upcoming event
Bloggers
Latest Videos
![]() ![]() SEO Roadshow: interview wit... More than a month ago the SEO-Chicks weblog started a contest to find new recruits for their b... Columns
Tagcloudevent street view social yandex interview social media streetview spain searchcowboys advertising video europe google earth ppc funny gmail yahoo youtube adwords blog russia privacy google london google maps google tools sem mobile twitter bing seo tools blogger images website search engine strategies smx search news businessMost Commented
AgendaMost Read
|
Search
My BlogLogPodcasts
Blogroll |
© 2010 Searchcowboys.com - All Rights Reserved - All views and opinions expressed are those of the authors of Searchcowboys.
All trademarks, slogans, text or logo representation used or referred to in this website are the property of their respective owners. Sitemap
Comments (6)
Its simply a domain parking - the domain has been parked on top of google.com - which mimics the site and steals its strength - not hard to pull off.
Ma 7 sep 2009, 13:52
Thanks for reposting and translating ;)
It might not be hard to pull off, but the fact that this is happening to Google and the fact that Google has no functioning filters to prevent this is pretty significant IMHO.
Cheers! Jeroen
Ma 7 sep 2009, 14:07
Hi Jeroen, it wasn't translated by all means, looked into it after I saw your post. So translation is far from true. Too bad you made that comment.
It is however an interesting find, kudos to you for that.
Ma 7 sep 2009, 14:12
No worries, wasn't meant as an insult ;) (the web never shows your face and your real intentions) No Biggy and thanks for the reference.
Ma 7 sep 2009, 14:22
Hi,
strange is that Google has indexed more than 800 pages on that nonGoogle domain. The warn every one to not duplicate and here the bot has indexed (again) his own site :)
Ma 7 sep 2009, 14:49
I guess I found it...
Google responce to his IP address: http://216.239.59.104/
and the www sub domain has this A record
; <<>> DiG 9.5.1-P2 <<>> www.ghlplc.co.uk a
;; global options: printcmd
;; Got answer:
;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 26385
;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 0, ADDITIONAL: 0
;; QUESTION SECTION:
;www.ghlplc.co.uk. IN A
;; ANSWER SECTION:
www.ghlplc.co.uk. 280 IN A 216.239.59.104
Ma 7 sep 2009, 14:53